Hazard Mitigation Plan Process Summary

This hazard mitigation planning process involves six steps:

STEP 1: Develop the Planning Process

Relevant studies, plans, and reports are collected along with communications resources that allow the public to be involved throughout the planning process. A Steering Committee is “built” that consists of city representatives, members of the public, and local and regional stakeholders to guide the overall planning process. A Planning Partnership is formed that consists of jurisdictions deciding to take part in the development of the HMP.

STEP 2: Develop the Plan’s Risk Assessment

Potential locations and geographic extent of natural, human-caused, and health hazards that can affect the cities are identified along with their impacts and future probability. Scientific and anecdotal evidence of past events is collected and evaluated, and the hazards and losses each participating jurisdiction has sustained are ranked high to low.

STEP 3: Assess Capabilities

Local capabilities in emergency services, the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP), planning and regulatory authority, administrative and technical knowledge, finances, and public information resources are assessed for each participating jurisdiction.

STEP 4: Develop the Mitigation Strategy

Goals, objectives, and actions and are developed to specifically address identified hazards. The Planning Partnership define appropriate mitigation actions and prioritizes those actions for their jurisdiction.

STEP 5: Determine Plan Maintenance Process

The HMP is a living document that must be regularly reviewed, updated, and maintained. The Steering Committee agrees upon a process for monitoring, evaluating, and updating the plan during its 5-year cycle. 

STEP 6: Obtain Mitigation Plan Approval and Adoption

The draft plan is made available for public comment then submitted to the California Governor's Office of Emergency Services (CalOES) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for review and approval. Once the plan has been determined to meet all state and federal requirements and receives official approval, it should be adopted by all participating jurisdictions.